Central Towns Trophy



Central Towns Trophy 2017

Sponsored by


Current Holders: Portumna Golf Club 


Central T

Competition Rules

  1. The tournament shall be organised and run by Tullamore Golf Club and the Trophy, which is perpetual, shall be known as the “Central Towns Trophy”.
  2. A pennant will be presented to the Captain of the winning Club. The Central Towns Trophy shall be presented to the Manager of the winning team.
  3. The competing teams shall consist of five male members, playing singles scratch match play. The playing handicaps of team members shall not have been less than thirteen (13) on 1st January in the year of the tournament. The playing handicap held by a player on 1st January is the operative handicap throughout the Tournament.
  4. A player may obtain distance information by using a device that measures distance only. If during a stipulated round, a player uses a distance-measuring device that is designed to gauge or measure other conditions that might affect his play (e.g. gradient, wind speed, temperature etc.), the player is in breach of Rule 14-3 of the Rules of Golf , for which the penalty is disqualification, regardless of whether any such additional function is actually used.
  5. All matches must be played to a finish unless an overall result has been reached.
  6. Each round of the tournament shall be played in accordance with the draw made by Tullamore Golf Club. For the first round the Club on top of the draw has three matches at home. For subsequent rounds, the Club whose number appears first on the draw sheet for the particular round being played, will play three (3) matches at home.
  7. No person may play for more than one Club in this tournament in any one season.
  8. All matches must be played on or before the date fixed. The winning club must report the result of the match to Tullamore Golf Club immediately.
  9. For the purposes of the tournament the area shall be divided into zones which will be determined by the organisers.
  10. The final of the tournament shall be played on the Tullamore Golf Course.
  11. The Trophy shall be held by the winning Club and such Club shall be responsible for the safe custody and return to Tullamore Golf Club before the final the following year.
  12. No green fees are chargeable to members of a team for practice, during the seven days prior to the match. It is suggested that one free practice round be made available to the visiting team members.
  13. The decision of the Tullamore Golf Club shall be final on any question arising out of this tournament.
  14. Entrance fee of €75 must be lodged with the tournament organiser, Tullamore Golf Club by 26th February 2017.


The Central Towns Trophy was inaugurated by Tullamore Golf Club in 1965 and the first winners were Carlow Golf Club.   It has been a hugely popular competition.  The format is five singles match-play off scratch for 13 handicap and upwards on a home and away basis.

The following are the winners to date:

2017 - ??????
2016 - Portumna
2015 - Portumna
2014 - Tullamore
2013 - Carlow
2012 - Carlow
2011 - Castle Barna
2010 - Naas
2009 - Cill Dara
2008 - Moate
2007 - Nenagh
2006 - Birr
2005 - Mullingar
2004 - Ballinasloe
2003 - Nenagh
2002 - Edenderry
2001 - Headfort
2000 - Templemore
1999 - Nenagh
1998 - Bodenstown
1997 - Moate
1996 - Portumna
1995 - Cill Dara
1994 - Thurles
1993 - Nenagh
1992 - Ballinasloe
1991 - Ballinasloe
1990 - Nenagh
1989 - Nenagh
1988 - Nenagh
1987 - Portumna
1986 - Thurles
1985 - Carlow
1984 - Abbeyleix
1983 - Loughrea
1982 - Loughrea
1981 - Mullingar
1980 - Nenagh
1979 - The Curragh
1978 - The Curragh
1977 - Carlow
1976 - Thurles
1975 - Thurles
1974 - Carlow
1973 - Carlow
1972 - Thurles
1971 - The Curragh
1970 - Carlow
1969 - Naas
1968 - Thurles
1967 - Birr
1966 - Carlow
1965 - Carlow